Nagahama Station

Jump to: navigation, search

Nagahama Station (長浜駅) is a train station in Nagahama, Shiga, Japan on the Hokuriku Main Line operated by West Japan Railway Company (JR West). It is Nagahama's main train station and gateway.

The station building, rebuilt from the ground up in Oct. 2006, is modeled after the station’s first and original building from 1882. They did a great job combining the old and the new. To fully appreciate the new station building, you have to see the original 19th-century station building which is preserved a short distance away at Nagahama Railroad Square, a train station museum with a few retired trains. The resemblance is impressive.

Nagahama Station is airy, attractive, and functional. A great improvement over the old and boring train station built in 1955. Near the ticket wicket is a nice, air-conditioned waiting room that also houses the tourist information desk. The waiting rooms on the train platforms are also convenient, but somewhat small. When you go down the exit escalator on the Heiwado side, you see a beautiful stained glass mural of Hikiyama Festival kabuki actors.

The new station was built on land adjacent to the old train station that was torn down. The location of the old train station is now occupied by a monstrous wedding hall dwarfing the new train station building right next to it. Although the wedding hall has a similar design as the station building, it almost totally cancels out the station building. It’s a real shame.

JR West English | JR West Timetable and Fare | Jorudan Timetable and Fare Finder | Nearby attractions

station photo1 station photo2

Related Articles

Hokuriku Main Line Train Stations in Shiga
Maibara 米原駅 | Sakata 坂田駅 | Tamura 田村駅 | Nagahama 長浜駅 | Torahime 虎姫駅 | Kawake 河毛駅 | Takatsuki 高月駅 | Kinomoto 木ノ本駅 | Yogo 余呉駅 | Omi-Shiotsu 近江塩津駅 | Shinhikida (Fukui) 新疋田駅 | Tsuruga (Fukui) 敦賀駅
Biwako Line 琵琶湖線 Train Stations
Kyoto* 京都駅 | Yamashina* 山科駅 | Otsu* 大津駅 | Zeze 膳所駅 | Ishiyama* 石山駅 | Seta 瀬田駅 | Minami-Kusatsu 南草駅 | Kusatsu* 津草津駅 | Ritto 栗東駅 | Moriyama* 守山駅 | Yasu* 野洲駅 | Shinohara 篠原駅 | Omi-Hachiman* 近江八幡駅 | Azuchi 安土駅 | Notogawa* 能登川駅 | Inae 稲枝駅 | Kawase 河瀬駅 | Minami-Hikone 南彦根駅 | Hikone* 彦根駅 | Maibara* 米原駅 | Sakata* 坂田駅 | Tamura* 田村駅 | Nagahama* 長浜駅 | *Shin-kaisoku stations.